It’s interesting that people bemoan all the safety for kids these days. Maybe they have no kids. Maybe they have never seen their own kids fall off bikes and suffer sundry other unfortunate accidents. I knew 2 kids who got killed trying to beat a train. If they make those crossings safer, impossible for kids to try to beat them I think I will be happy. Yeah, I know, tragedy will find some other way to enter my life. It’s a matter of karma, of samskaras, impressions left in the mind from incarnation to incarnation. Kind of  a new thing to me the samskaras. I knew the Buddhist’s view of the mentality going from body to body. They said we find this bardo after death. I read of it in the Tibetan Book of the Dead or else somewhere else. It was common talk, the bardo. Hindus speak of astral planets. Could they be the same? I mean whatever happens happens doesn’t it? A book I was given in 1980, not long after a disastrous attempt at being born again and at a time when I had decided to join my father in the Freemasons, the Urantia Book, says there is another world we go to and there we exist as a morontia form. We sow a mortal body and reap a morontia form. Pretty Christ oriented this book, but will not state that we go to Heaven or Hell or that there is some period of sleep before the Final Judgment of the world, but let’s forget about that. I am always looking for other versions of what happened 2020 years ago, 2024 or 2017 years ago that is. Now I find there are other versions of what happened 200 years ago when America was born, 250 years ago now, really 244 years ago and since. This morontia world I think is also referred to as the Mansion World. There are a plurality of them the book refers to, so, mansion worlds. So, what does that have to do with kids and safety? Will we confuse these truer versions of the Christ story and of our own relationship to the universe for a softening of real life. Is real life ending up in a wheel chair?  I hope not. So, tough, hard, real, are they all synonyms for each other? There is nothing like the real. I chanted Hare Krsna once. Their mantra is in full Hare Krsna Hare Krsna Krsna Krsna Hare Hare Hare Rama Hare Rama Rama Rama Hare Hare. It was quite an experience but I couldn’t get from from my home, my family. I just couldn’t live that way inside my family’s house. It would be like smoking dope and sleeping with women there, two things I could never do. It was nonetheless a miraculous kind of experience and I found much frustration in not being able to pursue it. One barrier and you might think of this when talking about tough and real and hard is the vow to not have sex (except for procreation), not use drugs (including stimulants in coffee, tea and chocolate) and not to eat meat (including fish and eggs). I was willing at the time because life had become quite a void. I was unwanted and not just by businesses and the schools but by personal friends and in general the counter-culture. I had some experiences though. Before the chanting of the Hare Krsna mantra I had experiences with Alice A. Bailey’s books. The fascination I had with them actually pursued me beyond the chanting of Hare Krsna. If you haven’t you should look into those books. They speak of cosmic fire and white magic, they speak of rays and the reappearance of the Christ. Give them a look. Maybe they will be tough enough for you.

Sadgurunath Maharaj ki jay!

Leave a comment